Into the Heartless Wood

BLURB

The forest is a dangerous place, where siren song lures men and women to their deaths. For centuries, a witch has harvested souls to feed the heartless tree, using its power to grow her domain.

When Owen Merrick is lured into the witch’s wood, one of her tree-siren daughters, Seren, saves his life instead of ending it. Every night, he climbs over the garden wall to see her, and every night her longing to become human deepens. But a shift in the stars foretells a dangerous curse, and Seren’s quest to become human will lead them into an ancient war raging between the witch and the king who is trying to stop her.

REVIEW

The cover is stunning and was the main reason I was attracted to the book in the first place. I did not know much before going into the book and that made me have the most amazing experience. This is the most unique ‘Beauty and the Beast’ retelling I have ever read. When the book ended I was crying profusely. It had awoken emotions I did not even know was present in me. I finished the book in fourteen hours, in a single sitting. The writing style is very soothing, it gave me a sense of serenity while I was reading the book. The concept of the beast and how it is varying throughout the book is fantastic. I liked the concept of the family especially when Seren goes to her brothers or when the scenes of Owen and his mother are written or Awela in all her might. I am spellbound by this work. This is my first read by the author but I look forward to reading more from her and I will pick her back-list titles. Initially, I was a little skeptical as to whether I would like this book because not much happens, there is no adventure or action whatsoever, but I was pleasantly surprised when I started liking even those portions, maybe way too much. The chapters are fast-paced and I adore the narration and writing style. I highly recommend everyone to pick this up. This is one of the best stand-alone fantasies I have ever read.

Leave a comment